Jobhunter’s log: Expanding views

The past month offered a couple of chances to realise the HIV/AIDS objective that I have set out to fulfill this year.

Early in the month, I was at Skatteverket (Swedish Tax Agency) for an errand and by chance bumped into someone who turned out to be a PhD student in a lab that I had applied for a week previously or so. We talked for a bit and exchanged contact details to follow-up on my application. Since I haven’t heard back, I assume the position must be filled.

I also applied for a PhD position in Public Health that would have in part entailed researching cardiovascular disease and HIV epidemiology on location with a cohort in Uganda. It was with a group that I had approached previously in the year, who had encouraged me to reapply once a formal position had been advertised.

Unfortunately, I was not selected for it in the end. I probably lacked the right qualifications in Public Health, but no harm in trying. Apart from that, I applied for a position as Biochemistry Scientist with a company developing a method for prenatal screening but I haven’t heard back yet.

On April 7th, I was having lunch with my former classmates from the Master’s Programme in Biomedicine. It was enjoyable and I got to provide an update how my jobhunt was going. Coming home proved to be a mess, with the terror attack in the Stockholm City centre and subsequent lockdown happening. I escaped unharmed as I was not near the scene of the attack. Although unrelated, I would like to take this opportunity to extend my deepest condolences to the victims and their families.

The deadline for higher education applications expires in April, so I took the opportunity to send in an application for the autumn focusing on e.g. nursing, writing/journalism, and global health. I may expand my search somewhat again, as I have begun looking into nearby fields such as Forensics but nothing as of yet – I realised too late to include it with my application for further studies.

Also, I have tried out an app called SelfieJobs to see what it can do for me, but I suspect it’s only for temporary positions e.g. summer jobs.

A short update for April, which was both intense and allowed a few days off for Easter. I want to thank everyone for your on-going support and hints about possible positions to apply for, it is much appreciated.

Until next time, all the best.
Simon

Leave a comment